Reply To: Sample "Just Cause" Letters

Home Forums Meet the Team Sample "Just Cause" Letters Reply To: Sample "Just Cause" Letters

DAVID COLBURN
Keymaster

Your Honor,

As I am sure you are only too aware, across nation there has been an increase in firearm sales.  At Dicks Sporting Goods, where I presently work it is my responsibility to sell firearms and accessories to the general public.  In our store the policy dictates that a sales associate has the right and responsibility to deny any firearm sale that he or she does not feel comfortable with or may have a concern that a firearm sale could potentially be a straw purchase.  If the applicant can give proof that the firearm is indeed for them, they can carry onto ATF Form 4473.

I have been selling firearms at ——– Sporting Goods, for the past two years.  Within that timeframe I have sold approximately 250 firearms.  My sales would have been higher however certain individuals may have been denied, delayed or acted in vain.  For those that have acted in vain, they chose to blame me if their 4473 resulting a delay or denial.  Many have left the store cussing, angry and a visible hatred towards me as the person that denied them even though I had no opinion in the matter.  Some of the people denied will try and send in a family member or friend to try and straw purchase the firearm for them right after they leave.  When I deny them as well, this adds fuel to the fire which you can well imagine I’m sure. 

My need for an unrestricted concealed carry license is above the need of the general community because I continuously see these individuals in public.  This group of people that may threaten me or want to do me harm has the potential to grow each day.  Many individuals in a similar profession, including some of my co-workers have been granted their unrestricted concealed carry license.